imponderable (adj). incapable of being weighed or evaluated with exactness

January 21, 2009

I woke up at 3:30am (after going to bed at 12:30am) this morning for the inauguration of Barak H. Obama as the 44th president of the United States of America. What a serious waste of my time, seriously.

Because I missed out on the most awesome post-election speech (because of my HSC), I thought it would be appropiate as an Obama supporter/fan to wake up in the early morn’ for his first speech as president, as opposed to president elect. I was seriously underwhelmed BOOOO.

I tuned into the ABC1 coverage as I have determined from 18 years of free-to-air television experience, that the ABC presents the least bias representations of news and current affairs (unlike Channel 7, which is overloaded with bullshit commentary by people who are dolled up as news ‘presenters’.  Melissa Doyle’s description of Obama’s speech as ‘amazing‘ was poorly conveyed and seriously misleading. Sorry to all the Mel [and Kochie] fans out there).

ABC1’s coverage was commendable. It highlighted the granduer and importance of Mr. Obama’s inaugauration and the significance of it in U.S History. It really showed the unity of the whole event.

Unfortunately, Mr. Obama’s speech was not as inspiring as his post-election/victory speech. I wasn’t at all uplifted or excited by the prospect of change that was a central theme to his publicity. Sure, there was moments, mere moments, where the speech was purposeful, setting out his goals and aims of what lies ahead, creating a sense of unity; then what seemed to be dominating was the business-like tone, the overuse of anaphora, and the (perhaps) conscious decision to tone down the speech, making the speech rather imponderable. I seemed to miss out/not understand exactly what Mr. Obama was trying to say- thus making it a tad confusing and less exciting and inspiring. (Or maybe I’m just expecting too much)

I felt seriously jipped after watching that. I went back to sleep at 4:30am. Yes, I waited a whole hour for something exciting to happen

Seeing as I was already lacking in sleep, I decided to not hit the gym before work, but instead, go after work.

I just got back from the gym. I joined my local Mounties gym (a.k.a M1). I did what seemed like a 30 minute session on weights, and 40 minutes on cardio. I feel good.
I felt really intimidated at first when I headed in today, because I went in by myself. But I got over it after 2 minutes because everyone there was seriously into it. I love the atmosphere.

The weights section is disgustingly dominated by males, who hog the machines and stand around the machines chatting to their gym buddies about their lactic acid and their muscle tone and the other stuff that I cannot recall. I mean, seriously, if you want to have a conversation, huddle over there where you are away from the machines so other people can use it.

I have work tomorrow. I worked out that I am seriously underpaid on Thursday nights, but I don’t bother doing anything about it because I work for my parentals.

Toodles

3 Responses to “imponderable (adj). incapable of being weighed or evaluated with exactness”

  1. James Bond Says:

    Yeah, I agree that his inaugural speech wasn’t as great as his post-election victory one.

    Nonetheless, I quite enjoyed it – though it was a little belligerent, and thus out of character, at one point or two – and think that the significance of the day will quickly (and dare I say I think already has) overshadowed the ‘overratedness/underwhelmingness’ (excuse my Bushisms) of the speech in subject.

  2. Pho Says:

    Hey, don’t misunderestimate him xD

  3. reila Says:

    I know, major disappointment in the speech but then again, I didn’t wake up 3AM to hear it (though I had plan to at the time). Apparently though, the speech was “somber” for the “somber” challenges ahead. At least that’s how SBS justified it.

    Sighhh. Whatevers. I really enjoyed his “hand of friendship” and “clenched fist” line though. That was awesome. :D

    AND! We should do a weekly gym thing? Because I’m always too chicken to go the gym by myself. :D

Leave a Reply

