doppelganger (noun). someone who closely resembles somebody else

February 9, 2009

I have a paper cut on my thumb, and I have no idea where I got it from.  I also have a bruise on my calf, and similarly, I don’t know where I got that from either. I really wish my body had enough iron/haemoglobin- I would so go donate some blood to the Red Cross now.
(If your iron and haemoglobin levels permits you so, go donate some blood and help out the tragedy that struck Victoria yesterday/today! I’ve even hyperlinked “Red Cross“-twice- so no excuses)

I was scheduled for work tomorrow, but I forgot that the Faculty of Arts and Social Science (FASS) had their Advising Day for undergraduates tomorrow, so I’ll be attending that instead of work, or Dilini’s place for scrapbooking.  I even brought scrapbook material for real cheap today during my lunch break; the prettiest papers for only 39c CHEAPPP! :D
I’ll probably end up using them for the letters I plan to distribute on Valentines Day (let’s hope I get them done up in time!)

Paul Sheehan’s article in the SMH is here.  Go have a read (:  It pretty much sums up what I feel about the Labor’s strategy in the current economic crisis- in a very eloquent manner if I may so so myself.

When people come up to me (on MSN) and tell me that they are bored, I feel a unnecessary burden automatically placed on me.  It’s as if they are asking me to entertain them, which would subsequently imply that I have some sort of entertainment value- which I don’t.  I go on MSN as a mean of alternative (and much cheaper) communication- mainly chat.  I can’t strike up a good conversation when I have a burden placed on me to make sure the conversation is ‘entertaining’ and doesn’t make the party even more bored.  Lovely conversations arise when I’m feeling IT- that is, happy, jolly, un-busy and mentally stimulated.
So I really don’t like it when people come up to me on MSN and tell me that they are bored.  I mean, what am I supposed to do? Play Chess with you? No, love, no.
(George, you know you’re guilty of this; Leena, you did this to me tonight, so I suggested you to go blog- let’s hope you did it!:D)

I can’t think of a context to use doppelganger in- except the fact that I first heard this world during my first screening of Disney’s The Little Mermaid; it was used by Scuttle (the seagull) to describe what a fork was to Ariel, and she proceeded to comb her red hair with it.  So all this time, I thought doppelganger was a made up word by the writers of Disney.  So naturally, the concept of the word doppelganger existing in the English dictionary is overwhelming, causing me to be overwhelmed, thus I fail at using the word tonight.

Runalong to Leena’s blog if you haven’t taken a peek. Bye

2 Responses to “doppelganger (noun). someone who closely resembles somebody else”

  1. leenalove Says:

    LOLOL darling I expect nothing of you when I say I’m bored.

    It’s simply my cleverer way of saying hello and answering ‘How are you?’ before you even ask (H)

  2. James Bond Says:

    And here’s a link to Ross Gittins’ article (also from the SMH) published a few days beforehand. He has a much stronger background in economics, and isn’t a Gerard Henderson neo-conservative wannabe (unlike Mr. Sheehan).

    Gittins, Ross. “It may be costly, but it will work,” The Sydney Morning Herald (February 4, 2009) : http://www.smh.com.au/news/business/it-may-be-costly-but-it-will-work/2009/02/03/1233423222684.html

    Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

