farrago (noun). a confused mixture; an assortment; a medley

February 22, 2009

I was on my way back from work this afternoon when Taylor Swift’s Lovestory was playing.
Originally, I thought the song had a very nice melody. It was a sweet song sung by a sweet girl.
Then you look at the lyrics:

That you were Romeo, you were throwing pebbles
And my daddy said stay away from Juliet
And I was crying on the staircase
Begging you please don’t go, and I said

I am seriously confused because isn’t the persona of the song supposed to be Juliet? And because she says ‘my daddy‘, indicating that it is her father telling her to stay away from her… and the rest is just incomprehensible at the moment.
Another song that annoys me in terms of the roles and persona, is Beyonce’s If I Were A Boy- watching the video clip confused me even more. Don’t get it.

My days of work are finally coming to an end with uni creeping up. O-week starts tomorrow and I think I might go instead of going to work. I really wanna meet up with kids who are gonna study with me! :D (Working for parents has its advantages)
I really am excited about uni. It means some routine can finally go back into my life, and I can go on and study again! Woo! :D
(Yes. I kinda miss studying)

Anyway, I’m gonna go read up about Oweek and the other farrago of uni stuff now!

4 Responses to “farrago (noun). a confused mixture; an assortment; a medley”

  1. Alysse :) Says:

    maybe she is quoting what her daddy said to romeo?
    i don’t know , but i don’t like that song!
    have fun at your days of o-week :)

  2. Leena Says:

    I agree with alyssey :)

    That you were Romeo, you were throwing pebbles
    And my daddy said “stay away from Juliet”

  3. TIMSUN Says:

    homg the “if i were a boy” clip is so cheesy i love it.

    WHEN YOU SAY THOSE SORTS OF THINGS I DON’T THINK YOU KNOW HOW IT MAKES ME LOOK. OR FEEL

    also the point of it is a gender switch on people cheating in relationships

  4. daddy Says:

    Or MAYBE, he is saying stay away from Juliet, meaning stay away from falling into the same trap Juliet did :)

    j/k.

    Daddy is sleeping with the daughter.

Leave a Reply

