factotum (noun). a person employed to do all kinds of work or business

June 7, 2009

Whilst doing my last research essay for this Semester, I realised how open I was about my feelings (I’ve no idea why I was thinking about such things when I’m supposed to be formulating a thesis for my essay).
I then proceeded to go onto the Internet to figure out what the idiom/phrase was for such a attribute so I could describe myself in ‘less that 160 characters’ (twitter is somewhat addictive).  It turns out that being open about your emotions is also known as ‘wearing your heart on your sleeve’.

But the thing is, the Internet prescribes that for one to wear their heart on their sleeve, is for one to put themselves in the position of getting hurt because people are more likely to target your emotions in order to cut you down, so to speak.
To this notion, I raise an eyebrow (figuratively speaking).

Why is it that expressing oneself is explicitly associated with the repercussions of getting hurt?   I, personally, do no concede to this notion.  I like to tell/express how I feel to people, because I don’t see any good in holding in these feelings.  It is self-destructive and causes one to over-think, leading to a mild form of paranoia.
Expressing yourself, can result in positive feedback/opinion (I think), which allows for self-betterment.  Instances where negative shit comes your way, I think one inherently learns to build a bridge and get over it, accepting that there are infinite perspectives out there, and that people are entitled to their opinions (justified or not).

I’ve always told people how I feel about them.  Sometimes, feelings are reciprocated-which is always good.  Sometimes, they’re not- and I’ve learnt that this is okay from past experiences.  Sometimes, feelings are not always good, and you need to tell someone they’re getting on your nerves instead of letting it get between your relationship with that person.

Thinking about what I just wrote, I realise I know a lot of people of actually like to keep to themselves, and I respect this.  I’m just putting out my philosophy of how I’m getting by as an 18 year old girl.

To conclude, Maggie is an eighteen year old girl who wears her heart on her sleeve.

*

I’m going to go pay a visit to Kinokuniya and purchase some John Green after I submit my essay!



I only recently figured out that Kino stocked him! :D:D:D (thankyou Twitter)

2 Responses to “factotum (noun). a person employed to do all kinds of work or business”

  1. Hieu Says:

    “put themselves in the position of getting hurt”

    The idea is if you dont put your emotions and feelings out there, you can’t get hurt.

    What if what you tell someone totally cuts them down? What if someone getting on your nerves is just a result of your own ignorance?

    Regardless, I’m going to have to side with you. Expressing yourself and wearing your heart on your sleeve (which I think originated from Othello) has much more potential for happiness than keeping to yourself.

  2. Vivienne Says:

    I say a lot of things that sometimes I’m not supposed to. This has gotten me into a lot of trouble in the past! (And still today!)

    I guess the repercussions don’t phase me; if someone is causing me pain/happiness/envy I will let them know.

    I see it this way; if they make you happy, let them know they make you happy. If they piss you off, let them carry the weight of being a dickwad.

    THUS, I whole-heartedly concur with your post!
    To conclude, Vivienne is also an (almost) 18 year old girl who wears her heart on her sleeve.

Leave a Reply

