veritable (adj). used as an intensifier, often to qualify a metaphor ; real or genuine

August 18, 2009

18th August 2009 (8:08pm):
Am on the train home from another wonderful Oxfam meeting.  We have the Livelihood Trivia Night, Fair Trade Fiesta@UNSW and Anti-Poverty Week planned for the rest of the semester, each within 2-3 weeks of each other. I’m so excited! It really gives me something to look forward to besides the uni work @ uni.  I mean, don’t get me wrong, I love uni and the social life that it brings along- especially Wednesday mornings on the lawn where everyone is there.  But having stuff like Oxfam is pretty sweet as well; just a little something extra.  And the Oxfam members are so nice- Lisa and Carol walked me down to Central instead of just catching a bus to Circular Quay..  So to all out there who are UNSW students, and non-students: come along to our events, especially Trivia night because it’s looking up to be a really fun night! (Wednesday before the Mid-Sem break!)

[rant] In other news (MX is right next to me), the NSW State Gov’t is dedicating a whopping $2.4million to keeping CityRail trains clean.  To which I say “What a joke” and will go ape-shit hereafter: It’ll be cheaper to teach people some mannerisms about public hygiene.  Shit, even cheaper to fine people who decide to litter.  Even better, RETURN THE BINS THAT WERE ONCE AT CENTRAL STATION!  This frustrates me so much.  I know the trains can be dirty and sometimes even smell heaps foul, shit, I have rubbish near my feet now.  But the point is, there could be another way around keeping our trains clean rather than spending excessive amounts of taxpayers money (my mum’s and dad’s money who don’t even take the train) to pay people to clean up after other people. Seriously?  If you’re going to do that, you better be ready for some real, harsh criticism from people who are going to complain about the outrageous expenditure; and on top of that, people who want funding for the public health system, public school system and the post-imprisonment rehabilitation scheme (as the same state gov’t is spending something around $4.6million dollars for keeping prisoners locked up).  Rah@Rees-  this is not sustainable.  And to all those people who chuck their litter on the train- learn some respect for your kind, you homosapien!  Treat others the way you want to be fucking treated.  When you become seriously sick from suffocation of the odours, or from contracting from some bacterial fungi from a mouldy banana skin you happen to sit next to on the train, don’t complain if there is no bed for you at your hospital and don’t complain if your taxes are increased to keep the train cleaner because of you, you big tosser. [/rant]

The system makes me sad.  I sometimes want to run away to Norway where all is better.  Just a question: how happy are you?  How happy are you with the system?  Give me your thoughts, it’d be nice to know what you think, dear reader.

I can get by day to day being happy with me and my family and my friends, but I also care about what is happening with the rest of humanity, and that gets me down a bit- I’m not happy with the system that I am entrenched in, and because of this, I’m an activist for change.  I believe every human being has the right to be happy and I know there are people out there who are barely surviving.  I’m not a doctor, so I can’t help people who are sick.  I’m a student who can raise awareness about the seriousness of STIs and how we can fight the spread of diseases; I’m an idealist who believes that people become criminals because the system denied them of education or because of circumstantial misfortune, and in this case we can provide opportunities. I’m a realist in the sense that I know I can’t change the world but will be content in knowing I’ve helped a part of humanity.

To end, I would like to share the words of Mohandas (Mahatma) Ghandi with you:

“You must not lose faith in humanity. Humanity is an ocean; if a few drops of the ocean are dirty, the ocean does not become dirty.”

One Response to “veritable (adj). used as an intensifier, often to qualify a metaphor ; real or genuine”

  1. timsun Says:

    there just needs to be bins at train stations. i know they can have bombs in it, whatever; it’s not like terrorists won’t find some other place to put it. too many times i’ve found myself leaving an easyway cup on a train because a) there’s no bin to put it in for two hours and b) there’s already so much rubbish on the train it won’t matter. i think worse than rubbish on a train thought is when you walk onto one and you get hit in the face with the odour of what is undeniably urine

Leave a Reply

