collocate (verb). to set or arrange in a place or position; to set side by side

September 8, 2009

I was home today in bed when I heard a knock on my front door.  I hastily got out to find two strangers there, both women.  They were part of Jehovah’s Witness and were back here again to encourage me (and family) to get into the Bible, you know, start reading it and stuff.  I told her that I wasn’t a religious person and that I was not interested in such things.  She said that there was a difference between religion and the Bible.  I looked at her like this:

wtf(aka ‘what-the-eff!-are-you-serious-look’ look).
She handed me a flyer titled “Would You Like to know the Truth?”  First of all, the Jehovah’s Witness claim of the ‘truth’ being enshrined in the Bible, and thus objective is, for non-realists like me, completely wrong.  I believe that the truth is a subjective thing and that there can never be a true truth.  Under this title, was a series of questions that Jehovah’s Witness believe people ask all the time, for example “Does God really care about us?”  This just undermines what the lady stranger was saying about the distinction between the Bible and Religion.  I always though that they were associateed together, with the links of God, i.e Religion=God=Bible  so therefore, Religion=Bible.  And the claim that “God will bring an end to all injustice and suffering” is complete bullocks.  God will not end all injustice and suffering; humanity will, since we’re all a part of it.  The claim that God will fix and end is pretty much discrediting the work of humanitarians around the world.  I thought it was rather pretentious to say God will end all suffering, not giving a single consideration to the works of human beings, and more importantly, the propensity of humanity to be compassionate and to world together for world peace.

I never want to go through one of these encounters ever again.

On a lighter note, I wanna go shopping tomorrow or something.   Dad just told me I had the car so no public transport so yipppeee! :D

But I know I should like, do some French.  Blahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

2 Responses to “collocate (verb). to set or arrange in a place or position; to set side by side”

  1. timsun Says:

    not everyone needs religion, but i think the core of what religion brings, i.e. hope for those who are not as strong-willed as others and a guideline to life for those who aren’t sure, is invaluable. unless they’re banging down your door and pinning you to the ground with giant crucifixes while shoving a bible in your face, i really have no problem with anyone promoting religion, because it’s not as if they’re spreading it completely for their own sakes – it’s often because they genuinely care about the wellbeing of others, whether or not the motive behind that is correct or otherwise.

    i think a lot of people judge the religious unfairly based on presumptions and misunderstanding.

    btw a lot of religious people will argue their faith is less of a religion and more of a lifestyle. it’s semantics i know but they weren’t just screwing with your head lol

  2. Daniel Says:

    LOL awesome blog

Leave a Reply

