discombobulate (verb). confuse (someone)

January 17, 2010

I’m so embarrassed! ):

I’m home with a tummy ache today and have finished reading the rest of The Catcher In The Rye, and about time to.  I can’t wait to start this new-ish book I got from Paddington’s Ariel titled Freedom: Short Stories celebrating the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. I think this will be an easier read compared to the well-renowned Salinger title.  Now, it may be that I lack the intellectual capacity to understand what seems to be teenage colloquial language, but I didn’t get the book at all.  The last chapter started off like this:  “That’s all I’m going to tell you about.”

WHAT?!   You end on me like this? After your eventful week of meeting a prostitute, sharing stories with nuns and bawling your eyes out to your sister, you end your story like that?  Mind you, this chapter only has 3 paragraphs so can you feel my sense of being cut short.  It’s kind of like the feeling when someone says to you “Hey I have something to tell you.” and they begin telling you their story, except they cut it short because they have to go to the loo or something.

I was really looking forward to reading the book because everyone was raving on about it: a couple of friends, some passer-by (he saw me on the train with it and said “That’s a good book you’ve got there!”), it was referenced in Youtube land, and it’s listed on A&R’s Top 100, as well as being among the best 100 English novels chosen by Time. I don’t quite understand why everyone loves it so much.  It’s pretty much the scattered thoughts of a teenage boy who thinks he’s better than everyone else.  Sure, the novel points to a few crucial issues revolving around growth and the transition from adolescence to adulthood, but I did not get what should be a cathartic ending.  Really, I didn’t, which made me even more discombobulated after 15 or so chapters of somewhat illogical events and stories.

Heck! I had to go Sparknote it, and I rarely (and by rarely, I mean only once) use Sparknote- how embarrassing for a tertiary International Studies/soon-to-be Law student.  How embarrassing!  It really makes me scared to head back into uni unable to decipher what is a relatively easy text.

Leave a Reply

